It’s Almost Thanksgiving…Are You Grateful?

thanksgiving

It is almost Thanksgiving again – and with the way things are, it would seem that there is nothing left to do but complain. I know, the economy is bust – millions have been laid off – and the world seems to be spinning 1000 miles and hour because ALOT has Changed.

Well, I’m here to say that in the midst of it all, there is ALWAYS something to be thankful for.
As I contemplated, the words of this post, I thought about my dear friend Amie Smith Harris – who despite the miles has always remained close.

Well, a few years back – because we are both Oprah freaks, she bought me “The Simple Abundance Journal of Gratitude” from Sarah Ban Breathnach. The idea of this, is that at the end of EVERYDAY you are to reflect back and write down 5 things that you are grateful for. What this exercise does – is it forces you to focus on the positive – in your day as opposed to the negative.

Anywho, as I began to review my post from Thanksgiving Day – when I first started journaling, here are the 5 things I was and continue to be grateful for on this special day:

Great Thanksgiving Meal
Candle light and atmosphere
Beautiful Table
Coming Together to make a nice day
Family Time

As we all look to the holiday season which can sometimes be overwhelming and in some cases depressing (especially with the state of the economy) look forward and celebrate the simple things that make the season grand and remember that the holidays (like TRUE FRIENDS) have NEVER been about quantity -

Quality Trumps EVERYTIME —–

Peace & Continued Blessings,

1 Comment

Filed under General...Life Matters, Girl Talk, Random Thoughts, Relationships

One response to “It’s Almost Thanksgiving…Are You Grateful?

  1. Amie

    Saba,

    When I count my blessings, I always include you and your family and the good times we shared!

    Your article couldn’t have come at a better time, as I had chosen to look at my circumstances (our current town, the local school system that leaves MUCH to be desired, the distance from our family and closest friends, etc.) and feel sad and hopeless. But after reading this, I realized that I have SO much to be grateful for and my sadness has disappeared and has been replaced with joyful memories of good food, laughter, debates (wink), games and just being with those I love.

    Thank you for helping me (once again) to remember that I have been blessed with Grade AAA friends like you. I am shedding many tears of joy right now just thinking about the good times we had for a short while and relishing in the fact that we have remained friends despite the distance that separates us..

    I Love you, Girl.

    Amie Smith-Harris

Leave a Reply

